RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Thursday, 17 July 2014 at 4.00pm.

PRESENT

County Borough Councillors:

L. M. Adams, C. Davies (Substitute), W. J. David, M. Forey and (Mrs) E. Hanagan

Officer in Attendance

Ms J Hadley - Head of school Organisation, Planning & Governance

1 APOLOGY

An apology of absence was received from County Borough Councillor S. Rees-Owen

2 <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

Members had no personal interests to declare in matters pertaining to the agenda.

3 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2014/2015 MUNICIPAL YEAR

RESOLVED to elect County Borough Councillor (Mrs) E. Hanagan as Chair for the Local Education Authority (Appointments) Committee for the 2014/15 Municipal Year

4 APPOINTMENT OF VICE CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2014/2015 MUNICIPAL YEAR

Resolved to appoint County Borough Councillor L. M. Adams as Vice Chairman for the Local Education Authority (Appointments) Committee for the 2014/2015 Municipal Year.

5 MINUTES

RESOLVED to approve as an accurate record the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on the 17th April 2014.

6 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local

Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

7 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In his report, the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, one late application for governorship was circulated for the Committee's consideration.

Following consideration of the report, it was **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below.

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DATE
PRIMARY SCHOOLS		
Blaengwawr Primary	Mrs Sheryl Evans	18 th July 2014
Glenboi Primary	Mrs Beverley Jones	18 th July 2014
Hawthorn Primary	Miss Deborah Vincent	18 th July 2014
Heolycelyn Primary	Mr Christopher Gibbins	18 th July 2014
Hirwaun Primary	Mr James Oliver Shilton	18 th July 2014
Llwyncrwn Primary	Mrs Barbara Rowe	18 th July 2014
Oaklands Primary	Mr Robert Uprichard	18 th July 2014
Penywaun Primary	Mr James Oliver Shilton	18 th July 2014
Pontyclun Primary	Reverend Susan Rees	18 th July 2014
St Margarets RC Primary	Miss Sarah Davies	18 th July 2014
Tonysguboriau Primary	Mr Richard Troote	18 th July 2014
Trerobart Primary	Mrs Edwina Pickering	18 th July 2014
Ynyscynon Early Years	Councillor Sylvia Jones	18 th July 2014
Ynyshir Primary	Mr Michael Williams	18 th July 2014
YGG Abercynon	Mrs Karen Taylor	18 th July 2014
COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOLS		
Aberdare Community School	Councillor Jeffrey Elliott	1 st September 2014
	Councillor Steven Bradwick	
	Councillor Linda De Vet	
	Mr Alun Maddox	
	Mr John Evans	
Bryncelynog Comprehensive	Mr A. Jones	19 th September 2014
Hawthorn High School	Councillor Stephen Powderhill	18 th July 2014
Porth County Community School	Mr Michael Williams	18 th July 2014

8 URGENT ITEM

With the permission of the Chairman, the Committee considered the following matter:

THE APPOINTMENT OF FOUR ADDITIONAL LEA GOVERNORS TO THE GOVERNING BODY OF COEDPENMAEN PRIMARY SCHOOL

The Head of school Organisation, Planning & Governance outlined to Members the report of the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning in respect of the above-mentioned appointment.

Following consideration of the report Members **RESOLVED** to approve the appointment of the four individuals identified in the report as LEA Governors to the Governing Body of Coedpenmaen Primary School for the period to 31st August 2015 in accordance with Section 6 of the School Standards and Organisation (Wales) Act, 2013 and the decision of Cabinet held on the 23rd June 2014.

(**Note:** Prior to consideration of the urgent item County Borough Councillor C. Davies wished to have recorded that he did not wish to remain in the meeting while this particular matter was considered and duly left for the remainder of the meeting).

(Mrs) E. HANAGAN CHAIRMAN

The meeting terminated at 4.25pm