Skip to main content

Senedd Cymru Election May 2021

The Senedd Cymru Election will allow voters to elect 60 members to The Senedd (formerly the National Assembly for Wales). It will be the first election in which 16 and 17 year olds and legally resident foreign nationals are allowed to vote in Wales, the largest extension of the franchise in Wales since 1969. Both changes were a result of the Senedd and Elections (Wales) Act 2020.

The next Senedd Cymru Elections will be on Thursday 6 May 2021. For further detailed information relating to this election and associated timetable please visit the Vale of Glamorgan Council’s Regional Returning Officer website

If you are unable to attend the polling station in person due to a positive Covid-19 test or are required to self-isolate as a result of government or medical advice, you can appoint an emergency proxy to vote on your behalf. Download an application form online. You can apply up until 5pm on 6 May.


To vote in the Senedd Cymru Elections, you must be:

  • Registered to vote​​​​​​​​​​​​​ If you’re not already registered
  • 16 or over on the day of the election – 6 May 2021
  • A British, Irish, EU, or qualifying Commonwealth citizen
  • A qualifying foreign citizen who has permission to enter or stay in the UK, or who doesn’t need such permission

There are five Senedd electoral regions in Wales:

  • Mid and West Wales
  • North Wales
  • South Wales Central
  • South Wales East
  • South Wales West

The voting areas within the South Wales Central Region are:

  • ​Cardiff
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf
  • Vale of Glamorgan

The Regional Returning Officer is responsible for the overall conduct of the Senedd elections for the South Wales Central Region, and for liaising with the Constituency Returning Officer’s in the South Wales Central Region. The Regional Returning Officer is also responsible for giving notice of the election, the nomination procedure, encouraging participation, ensuring that the candidate’s election addresses requirements and the procedures for submitting those addresses are complied with, the collation of local totals, the calculation of the result and finally the declaration of the result.

The Regional Returning Officer for the South Wales Central Region is Debbie Marles, Vale of Glamorgan Council.

The Constituency Returning Officer is responsible for ensuring the election is administered effectively in their voting area including the provision of polling stations, the printing of ballot papers, appointing polling station staff, the conduct of the poll, managing the postal vote process, the verification and count in their voting area and transmission of the local totals to the Regional Returning Officer. 

The Constituency Returning Officer for Rhondda Cynon Taf is Andrew Wilkins, Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council.

The Senedd Cymru polls are being combined with the Police and Crime Commissioner polls that are being held on the same day.

To be eligible to vote in the Police and Crime Commissioners Election you must be:

  • 18 or over on the day of the election
  • A British, Irish, Commonwealth or EU citizen

Please note: 16 and 17 year olds and qualifying foreign nationals will not be eligible to vote in the Police and Crime Commissioner election.