The Cabinet 2017 (without wording)

Following his appointment as Leader of the Council, Cllr Andrew Morgan has announced his new Cabinet following the local government elections. 

Cllr Morgan has restructured his Cabinet to reduce the overall cost of the Council’s executive functions by introducing two Deputy Cabinet Members. 

At the Council’s Annual General Meeting the following Councillors were appointed to the Cabinet: 


Cllr Andrew Morgan 

Deputy Leader & Cabinet Member for Council Business

Cllr Maureen Webber 

Cabinet Member for Education & Lifelong Learning

Cllr Joy Rosser 

Cabinet Member for Adult & Children’s Community Services

Cllr Geraint Hopkins 

Cabinet Member for Enterprise, Development & Housing

Cllr Robert Bevan 

Cabinet Member for Corporate Services

Cllr Mark Norris 

Cabinet Member for Environment & Leisure

Cllr Ann Crimmings 

Deputy Cabinet Member for Children & Young People

Cllr Tina Leyshon 

Deputy Cabinet Member for Prosperity & Well-being

Cllr Rhys Lewis

Commenting on the announcement of his Cabinet, County Borough Councillor Andrew Morgan, Leader of Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council, said: “Following my election as Leader of the Council, I have sought to build on the experience and track record of delivery by the last Council administration when appointing my Cabinet. 

“Just as we shrunk the corporate management arrangements of the Council, saving over £2M in the last administration, I have taken the opportunity, following the local government election earlier this month, to reduce the total number of Cabinet Members from seven to five, and instead introduced two Deputy Cabinet Members. 

“The new Cabinet arrangements are focused on delivering upon the pledges we have made to the residents of Rhondda Cynon Taf and setting an ambitious direction for our County Borough moving forward. 

“I would like to place on record my thanks to Cllr Mike Forey, who has taken the decision not to continue within the Cabinet, for his long stewardship of the Adult Social Services portfolio over the last nine years and his membership of the Council executive since 2004. 

“He has made a massive contribution to the delivering of services and providing leadership within this hugely important service area. I would also like to place on record the personal support Cllr Forey has always offered to me during my time as a Councillor. 

“I would also like to place on record my thanks to former Councillor Eudine Hanagan for her leadership as the Cabinet Member for Education over the past nine years, which has seen more investment delivered in Rhondda Cynon Taf’s schools than any other part of Wales. 

“Eudine served as a Cabinet Member since 2004, and the decisions she led during the course of her tenure in Education have achieved significant improvements in standards and attainment in all our schools. 

“These two important roles of Education and Social Services will now be led by Cllr Joy Rosser and Cllr Geraint Hopkins (respectively), who will build upon the strong foundations already set in place. 

“The two new Deputy roles will support the delivery of our manifesto through cross cutting responsibility areas, as well as bringing fresh ideas and view points to the Cabinet moving forward over the course of this new administration. 

“The formation of the Cabinet is an important milestone following the election, which means the job of delivering the changes and improvements the public and residents told us clearly they wanted to see achieved can now begin to be delivered. 

“This new team will now start working alongside Officers of the Council to bring forward and implement the commitments we made into a reality. 

“To effectively track and monitor this progress, I have already requested the Cabinet Office to bring forward an action plan for delivering upon these commitments in the coming weeks, which will set out how we will achieve our ambitions for RCT.” 

The Council’s Cabinet will first meet formally in June, with the date of the meeting to be confirmed shortly.

Posted on Friday 19th May 2017

Help us improve - don't include personal or financial information, e.g. your National Insurance number or credit card details.