Skip to main content

Cabinet Members to step back from Executive role

Cllr Joy Rosser and Cllr Geraint Hopkins have today announced their personal decisions to step-back from their Cabinet roles. Cllr Rosser has taken this decision following her decision not to seek re-election at May’s local government elections. Cllr Hopkins has taken this decision following his recent appointment as the Clerk and Chief Officer of Llantrisant Community Council.

Cllr Geraint Hopkins was this month appointed as the Local Authority Member on Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board by the Welsh Government Minister for Health & Social Services.

Commenting on the decision of the two Cabinet Members, County Borough Councillor Andrew Morgan, Leader of Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council, said

“I would like to thank Joy and Geraint for their long service within the Cabinet and for the positive improvements they have secured through their respective portfolio responsibilities.

“The Cabinet and I will miss their contributions to the strategic decisions of the Council and we wish Cllr Rosser all the very best in her retirement from politics next May, and likewise we wish Cllr Hopkins good luck in his new personal career direction.

“In particular, Cllr Rosser has steered significant investment in 21st Century schools including ongoing projects at YGG Aberdâr and Ysgol Rhydywaun, planned investment in the greater Pontypridd area by 2024, and initiating the transformation of school facilities for Llanilltud Faerdref Primary, Penygawsi Primary and Pontyclun Primary by 2023, and recently-announced projects using additional £85m Welsh Government funding, which includes the creation of a new special school.

“During his time within Cabinet, Cllr Hopkins has led the transformation and modernisation of services for older people, as well as championing the Welsh Language within all our key decisions.

“The transformation has included a £50m investment in extra care is being made across Rhondda Cynon Taf with five new facilities being delivered to meet the needs of future generations of older people.

“Following the decisions of Cllr Rosser and Cllr Hopkins, I will confirm the new cabinet arrangements over the coming days.

County Borough Councillor Joy Rosser said:

“It has been an honour and a privilege to serve in the Council’s Cabinet since 2015 and to have been able to progress the Council’s continued transformation of schools, and improvements in education, across Rhondda Cynon Taf since taking Cabinet responsibility for education in 2017.

“After serving as the Councillor for Trealaw since 2012, I have taken the personal decision to step back from local politics and will therefore not be seeking re-election at May’s local elections.

For this reason I believe it is the right decision to move aside from Cabinet, which will provide the opportunity for someone who will be seeking re-election next May to play-a-part in shaping the delivery of services and the Council’s future ambitions for our communities – particularly as the Cabinet will shortly propose its budget strategy for the 2022/23 financial year.

“I would like to place on my record my thanks to my Councillor colleagues for their support over the last ten years and during my time as a Cabinet Member, as well as the Officers of the Council for their commitment and dedication to achieve highest standards and the very best for our communities.”

County Borough Councillor Geraint Hopkins said:

“Following my recent appointment as the Clerk and Chief Officer of Llantrisant Community Council, I am no longer in a position to undertake the full-time role of a Cabinet member, and therefore have taken the personal decision to step back from my Cabinet role.

“Alongside this change in direction for my professional career, I will continue to play a positive role on the Council representing the residents of Llanharan, and will seek this opportunity once again at May’s local government elections.

“Delivering the improvements and investment in social care, which have been achieved during my time as a Cabinet Member, have only been possible thanks to the committed and dedicated Officer support we are fortunate to have in Rhondda Cynon Taf. The dedication and commitment of social care staff, particularly over the last two-year period, also deserves recognition
for the personal difference they make to individuals and families the length and breadth of Rhondda Cynon Taf. I have been proud to play a part in this vitally-important service area.”

Cllr Morgan will confirm his Cabinet arrangements for the remainder of the municipal year later this week following the departure of Cllr Rosser and Cllr Hopkins on Wednesday of this week.

Cllr Geraint Hopkins, who has represented the electoral ward of Llanharan since 2004, has served as a member of Cllr Andrew Morgan’s Cabinet since 2014, with responsibility for the service areas of social services and the Welsh language over the course of this period.

Cllr Rosser joined the Cabinet in 2015, initially with responsibility for Prosperity, Wellbeing and Communities and since 2017 has held the portfolio for Education and Inclusion Services

Posted on 17/01/2022