Community, Town councils and councillors

Community / Town Councils are the most local level of government in England and Wales. They are independent of other levels of local government, i.e. County Borough Council, however they maintain a close working relationship with them. Within the County Borough Boundary of Rhondda Cynon Taf there are eleven Community Councils and one Town Council based in Pontypridd.

Town/Community Councillors

Town/Community Councillors have an active interest and concern for their local community. They represent local people and work in partnership with them and others when necessary. They help facilitate the provision of local services and facilities and take decisions that form the policy of their Council.

Town/Community Councillors are not paid and have to abide by a Local Government Code of Conduct and declare their financial interests. Town/Community Councillors must also declare a personal or prejudicial interest in any matter under discussion at a community/town council meeting.

Contact details for local Town/Community Councils

Cynon Valley

Ynysybwl & Coed y Cwm Community Council
Ms Emma Davies
20 Windsor Place
CF37 3HR

Tel. 01443 790673

Rhigos Community Council

Mrs Susan Harvey Powell
Llwynfedwen Farm
CF44 9QA

Tel. 01685 813201

Hirwaun & Penderyn Community Council

Mr Neale Thomas
Village Hall
CF44 9SL

Tel. 01685 811566

Taff Ely

Pontypridd Town Council
Mr Gethin Williams
Civic Offices
133 Berw Road
CF37 2AA

Tel. 01443 490740

Llantwit Fardre Community Council
Leanne Handley
Parish Hall
Main Road
Church Village
CF38 1PY

Tel. 01443 209779
Fax. 01443 217262

Llantrisant Community Council
Mrs. A. Jenkins
Acting Clerk
New Parish Offices
Caerlan Hall
Newbridge Road
CF72 8EX

Tel. 01443 223796
Fax. 01443 227621

Llanharan Community Council
Mr Peter Davies
71 The Dell
CF38 1TG

Tel. 01443 218154

Llanharry Community Council
Mrs Gillian Lewis
Groes Sannor
Degar Road
CF72 9JX

Tel. 01443 223007

Tonyrefail Community Council
Ms Pauline Williams
Trane Cemetery Office
Gilfach Road

Tel. 01443 673991

Gilfach Goch Community Council
Mrs E. Jones
19 Wood Street
Gilfach Goch
CF39 8UF

Tel. 01443 673415
Fax 01443 673415

Pontyclun Community Council 
Ms Cath Craven
Pontyclun Community Council Offices
Pontyclun Community Centre 
Heol Yr Orsaf 
Pontyclun CF72 9TY

Tel. 01443 238500

Taffs Well Community Council
Mr Derek Allinson
28 Mill Close
CF14 0XQ

Tel. 07815 913417