#### RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

## LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

**Minutes** of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Thursday, 16 January 2014 at 4.20 p.m.

#### **PRESENT**

County Borough Councillor (Mrs) E. Hanagan – in the Chair

### **County Borough Councillors:**

L. M. Adams, S. Rees-Owen, W. J. David and M. Forey

#### Officer in Attendance

Mr Ian Jenkins –Liaison Service Co-ordinator

#### 14 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members had no personal interests to declare in matters pertaining to the agenda.

#### 15 MINUTES

**RESOLVED** to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 3<sup>rd</sup> October 2013.

#### 16 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

**RESOLVED** that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

# REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

#### 17 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In his report, the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, four late applications for governorship were circulated for the Committee's consideration.

Following consideration of the report, it was **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below.

| <u>SCHOOL</u>               | <u>GOVERNOR</u>          | EFFECTIVE DATE  |
|-----------------------------|--------------------------|-----------------|
| PRIMARY SCHOOLS             |                          |                 |
| Aberdare Park Primary       | Mrs Diane Hoffland       | 1 January 2014  |
|                             | Mrs Moira Davies         | 1 January 2014  |
| Cymmer Infants              | Mrs Gwenda Mathews       | 17 January 2014 |
| Cymmer Junior               | Mrs Gwenda Mathews       | 17 January 2014 |
| Ffynnon Taf Primary         | Mrs Helen Edmunds        | 17 January 2014 |
| Gelli Primary               | Mr Graham Dunn           | 21 January 2014 |
| Hendreforgan Primary        | Mr Hendrik Haye          | 21 April 2014   |
| Llanharan Primary           | Mrs Stella Harry         | 21 January 2014 |
| Llwynypia Primary           | Councillor Sylvia Jones  | 11 January 2014 |
| Maesycoed Primary           | Councillor Robert Smith  | 11 January 2014 |
| Parclewis Primary           | Mr Michael Lewis         | 17 January 2014 |
| Penrhiwceibr Primary        | Dr Barbara John          | 17 January 2014 |
| Pentre Primary              | Rev Haydn England-Simon  | 21 January 2014 |
| Porth Junior                | Mrs Carol Edwards        | 17 January 2014 |
| Ton Junior                  | Mr Andrew Pickford       | 17 January 2014 |
| Williamstown Primary        | Mr Mathew Free           | 21 January 2014 |
| Ynysboeth Community Primary | Ms Mary Bevan            | 17 January 2014 |
| School                      |                          |                 |
| Ynyshir Primary             | Mr Mark Leyshon          | 17 January 2014 |
| YGG Aberdar                 | Mr Gwilym Jones          | 21 April 2014   |
| YGG Bodringallt             | Mr Clifford Jones        | 21 January 2014 |
| YGG Llantrisant             | Dr Sandra Bowen          | 17 January 2014 |
| COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOLS       |                          |                 |
| Hawthorn High School        | Councillor Jill Bonetto  | 17 January 2014 |
| Tonyrefail School           | Mrs Susan Lewis          | 21 April 2014   |
| Y Pant Comprehensive        | Councillor Glynne Holmes | 11 January 2014 |
|                             | Mr Richard Troote        | 21 January 2014 |
| YG Llanhari                 | Dr Sandra Maureen Bowen  | 17 January 2014 |
| YG Rhydywaun                | Mrs Elizabeth Walters    | 11 January 2014 |
|                             | Mr Michael Wheeler       | 11 January 2014 |
| SPECIAL SCHOOLS             |                          |                 |
| Maesgwyn Special School     | Mr Ian Gardiner          | 17 January 2014 |
| Ysgol Hen Felin             | Mr Antony Dodd           | 17 January 2014 |
|                             | Miss Michelle Evans      | 11 January 2014 |
|                             |                          |                 |

(Mrs) E. Hanagan CHAIRMAN

The meeting terminated at 4.25pm