RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Tuesday, 5 May 2015 at 4.30pm.

PRESENT

County Borough Councillor E.Hanagan – in the Chair

County Borough Councillors:

L. M. Adams and W. J. David

Officer in Attendance

Mrs.J.Hadley – Head of School Organisation, Planning and Governance

19 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from County Borough Councillors M. Forey and S.Rees-Owen.

20 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

Members had no personal interests to declare in matters pertaining to the agenda.

21 <u>MINUTES</u>

RESOLVED to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 28 January 2015.

22 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

23 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In his report, the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, one late application for governorship was circulated for consideration and the Committee was informed that two of the applicants listed (Mrs.V.Mor-O'Brien and Mr D Stone) had since withdrawn their applications.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DATE
Cwmbach Church in Wales Primary	Mrs.Ann Whitmore	6 July 2015
Darran Park Primary	Mr.Roy Maddox	28 June 2015
Ferndale Infants	Mrs.Denise Gibbins	5 May 2015
Ffynnon Taf Primary	Mrs.Megan Jones	28 June 2015
Gelli Primary	Mr.Ian Jenkins	28 June 2015
Gwaunmeisgyn Primary	Mrs.Katie Cole	5 May 2015
Llwydcoed Primary	Mrs.Sandra Evans	28 June 2015
Maesycoed Primary	Mr.Evan Thomas	28 June 2015
Penrhiwceiber Primary	Councillor Adam Fox	1 September 2015
Pontrhondda Primary	Mrs.Dilys Jouvenat	5 May 2015
Rhigos Primary	Councillor Graham Thomas	6 July 2015
Ton Infants	Mr.Ian Jenkins	5 May 2015
Ynysboeth Community	Mr.John Matthews	5 May 2015
YGG Aberdar	Mrs.Eryl Huish	5 May 2015
YGG Castellau	Mr.Jonathan Williams	5 May 2015
YGG Garth Olwg	Mr.David Handley	5 May 2015
Pontypridd High	Mrs.Carly Evans	5 May 2015
Ysgol Gyfun Garth Olwg	Mrs.Beverley Channon	5 May 2015
	Mr.David Handley	5 May 2015
	Councillor Graham Stacey	28 June 2015
Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun	Mrs.Deborah Smart	5 May 2015
	Mr.Michael Thomas	5 May 2015
Park Lane Special	Father Richard Green	5 May 2015
Ysgol Ty Coch	Mrs.Julie Morgan	5 May 2015
Pupil Referral Units	Mrs.Eleanor Aubrey	5 May 2015
Tai Centre/Ty Gwyn	Mr.Stuart Tucker	5 May 2015

(Mrs) E. HANAGAN CHAIRMAN

The meeting terminated at 4.35 p.m.