#### RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

# LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

**Minutes** of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Wednesday 21<sup>st</sup> September 2016 at 4.30pm.

#### **PRESENT**

# **County Borough Councillors:**

W. J. David M.Forey (Mrs) E.Hanagan R.Yeo

#### Officer in Attendance

Mrs.J.Hadley - School Organisation Manager

## 1 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor S.Rees-Owens

## 2 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

County Borough Councillors

- (Mrs) E.Hanagan declared a personal and prejudicial interest in agenda item no.6 – Applications for the appointment of Local Education Authority Governors – "I am applying to be a Governor at Tonyrefail Primary School and will not take part in this matter".
- 2. W.J. David declared a personal and prejudicial interest in agenda no.6 Applications for appointment of Local Education Authority Governors at Bryncelynnog Comprehensive School "I have sat on the same governing body and one of the applicants is a very good friend of mine."

#### 3 MINUTES

**RESOLVED** to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 9<sup>th</sup> May 2016.

# 4 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY</u> <u>GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2015-16</u> <u>MUNICIPAL YEAR</u>

**RESOLVED** to elect County Borough Councillor (Mrs) E.Hanagan as Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2016-17 municipal year.

# 5 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2015-16 MUNICIPAL YEAR

**RESOLVED** to appoint County Borough Councillor R.Yeo as Vice-Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2016-17 municipal year.

# 6 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

**RESOLVED** that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

# REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

## 7 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In his report, the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, two late applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

<u>SCHOOL</u>	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DATE
Caradog Primary	Mr Dewi James	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016

Cefn & Craig yr Hesg Federated	Miss Catherine Huntley	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Coedpenmaen Primary	Mr John Wride	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Cwmbach Community Primary	Councillor Jeffery Elliot	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Dolau Primary	Councillor Barry Stephens &	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
-	Mrs Amy Stabler	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Hafod Primary	Mr Jeffery Davies & Mr	19 <sup>th</sup> October 2016
	Gareth Caple	19 <sup>th</sup> October 2016
Hirwaun Primary	Mrs Jennifer Myring	25 <sup>th</sup> November 2016
Llanharan Primary	Ms Wendy Bebb – Sutton &	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
	Mrs Amy Stabler	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Miskin Primary	Ms Angela Ellis	25 <sup>th</sup> November 2016
Parc Primary	Mrs Denise Ridgers	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Penrhiwceibr Primary	Canon Michael Short	25 <sup>th</sup> November 2016
Penyrenglyn Community Primary	Councillor Irene Pearce	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Pontrhondda Primary	Councillor Sylvia Jones	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Rhigos Primary	Mrs Christine Rivers	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Ton Pentre Juniors	Mrs Janet Edwards	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Tonypandy Primary	Councillor Craig Middle	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Tonyrefail Primary	Councillor Eudine Hanagan	19 <sup>th</sup> October 2016
Treorchy Primary	Mrs Denise Ridgers	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
YGG Llwyncelyn	Mr Maxim James	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Ysgol Llanhari	Councillor Barry Stephens	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Ysgol Ty Coch	Reverend Philip Gullidge	18 <sup>th</sup> October 2016
Bryncelynnog Comprehensive	Mrs Claire Norris &	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
	Mr Stephen James	25 <sup>th</sup> November 2016
Mountain Ash Comprehensive	Mrs Helen O'Sullivan	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Pontypridd High	Mrs Christine Murray &	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
	Councillor Stephen Carter	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
YG Rhydywaun	Mrs Deborah Isaac	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016

#### **TEMPORARY GOVERNING BODIES**

Tonypandy	Parent Governor	Ms Teresa Woodbridge	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
Middle School			
Tonyrefail Middle	L.E.A Governor	Mrs Susan Lewis	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016
School	Staff Governor	Ms Linda Butcher	21 <sup>st</sup> September 2016

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter, County Borough Councillor (Mrs) E.Hanagan left the meeting at the point of the appointment the Governors at Tonyrefail Primary School, vacating the Chair in favour of the Vice Chair for that point of the meeting.)

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor W.J. David left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Bryncelynnog Comprehensive School)

(Mrs) E. HANAGAN CHAIRMAN

The meeting terminated at 4.55 p.m.