RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Wednesday 2nd March 2017 at 10.30am.

PRESENT

County Borough Councillors:

W. J. David (Mrs) E.Hanagan M. Forey

Officer in Attendance

Mrs.J.Hadley – School Organisation Manager Ms C. Hendy – Democratic Services Officer

17 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillors S.Rees – Owens and R. Yeo

18 <u>DECLARATION OF INTEREST</u>

RESOLVED – to note that in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct there were no declarations of interest made at the meeting pertaining to the agenda.

19 MINUTES

RESOLVED to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 4th January 2017.

20 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is

desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

21 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

<u>SCHOOL</u>	<u>GOVERNOR</u>	EFFECTIVE DATE
Capcoch Primary	Mr J Jenkins	2 nd March 2017
Caradog Primary	Councillor S. Bradwick	2 nd March 2017
Cwmaman Infants and Glynhafod	Councillor C. Williams	2 nd March 2017
Juniors		
Cwmdar Primary	Councillor S. Rees	2 nd March 2017
-	Mrs M Plummer	
Darrenlas Primary	Mrs W Treeby	2 nd March 2017
•	Mrs S Burrows	
YGG Evans James	Mr M R Lindsay	2 nd March 2017
YGGG Llantrisant	Mrs C Willis	23 rd April 2017
Hawthorn High	Councillor T Bates	23 rd April 2017
Mountain Ash Comprehensive	Mrs L Amor	2 nd March 2017
Y Pant Comprehensive	Councillor P Griffiths	
-		23 rd April 2017
Tai/ Ty Gwyn Federation	Mr M Condon	2 nd March 2017

(Mrs) E. HANAGAN CHAIRMAN

The meeting terminated at 10:20am