Mae'r cofnodion hyn yn amodol ar gymeradwyaeth yng nghyfarfod priodol nesaf y Pwyllgor.

These Minutes are subject to approval at the next appropriate meeting of the Committee

RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Thursday, 15th February 2018 at 9:30am.

PRESENT

County Borough Councillors:

M. Forey C. Leyshon S. Rees-Owen J. Rosser

Officers in Attendance

Miss N Morgan – School Organisation and Governance Team Leader
Ms J. Nicholls - Senior Democratic Services Officer

13 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor J. Brencher.

14 <u>DECLARATION OF INTEREST</u>

RESOLVED – to note that in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct there were no declarations of interest made at the meeting pertaining to the agenda.

15 MINUTES

RESOLVED to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 4th October 2017 (subject to it being noted that on the agenda the Minutes stated the 11th July 2017 which was incorrect).

16 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is

desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

17 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, five late applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below;

(**Note:** Members requested that a letter be sent to the unsuccessful applicant as Governor at Ferndale Community School, suggesting that they may wish to consider applying for the position of Parent/Community Governor at said school and to the unsuccessful applicants as Governors at Tonyrefail Comprehensive and Caegarw Primary, suggesting that they consider applying to nearby schools where vacancies exist).

SCHOOL	<u>GOVERNOR</u>	EFFECTIVE DATE
Aberdare Park Primary	Mrs Moira Davies	15 th February 2018
	Mr David Davies	15 th February 2018
Caegarw Primary	Mrs Victoria Binding	15 th February 2018
Capcoch Primary	Councillor Anita Calvert	15 th February 2018
Cefn & Craig yr Hesg Federated	Ms Sian Assiratti	15 th February 2018
Cilfynydd Primary	Councillor Stephen Belzak	15 th February 2018
Coedylan Primary	Councillor Heledd Fychan	15 th February 2018
Darran Park Primary	Mr Philip Barnes	18 th April 2018
Dolau Primary	Councillor Roger Turner	15 th February 2018
Gwauncelyn Primary	Mr Lee Porter	15 th February 2018
Hirwaun Primary	Mrs Margaret Walters	12 th May 2018
Llantrisant Primary	Councillor Glynne Holmes	15 th February 2018
Maerdy Primary	Councillor Jack Harries	15 th February 2018
Maesybryn Primary	Mrs Michelle Madley	15 th February 2018
Oaklands Primary	Mr Steven Cowell	15 th February 2018
Parc Primary	Mrs Anne Morris	15 th February 2018
Penrhys Primary	Rev Peter Noble	15 th February 2018
Rhigos Primary	Miss Sarah Evans	15 th February 2018
St Michaels R. C. Primary	Mrs Catherine Liles	15 th February 2018
Tylorstown Primary	Rev David Jones	15 th February 2018
Ynysboeth Community Primary	Mrs Mary Bevan	15 th February 2018
	Mr Robert Cooke	16 th January 2018
Ynyshir Primary	Mr Benjamin Romans	15 th February 2018
YGG Bodringallt	Councillor Elyn Stephens	15 th February 2018
YGG Castellau	Mrs Janet Rowlands	18 th April 2018

YGG Llwyncelyn	Mrs Helen Wilson	15 th February 2018
YGG Llyn Y Forwyn	Councillor Philip Howe	15 th February 2018
YGG Pontsionnorton	Councillor Stephen Belzak	15 th February 2018
SPECIAL SCHOOLS		
Ysgol Hen Felin	Councillor Larraine Jones	15 th February 2018
SECONDARY SCHOOLS		
Cardinal Newman RC	Mr Mark Harris	15 th February 2018
Ferndale Community School	Mr Ceri Jones	15 th February 2018
	Councillor Susan Morgans	15 th February 2018
	Councillor Jack Harries	15 th February 2018
Porth County Comprehensive	Mr Peter Crews	15 th February 2018
	Mr Benjamin Romans	18 th April 2018
Tonyrefail Comprehensive	Councillor Alexandra Davies-	15 th February 2018
	Jones	
	Councillor Dan Owen-Jones	21 st April 2018
Y Pant Comprehensive School	Councillor Glynne Holmes	16 th January 2018
Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhondda	Ms Dilys Davies	15 th February 2018
Ysgol Gyfun Garth Olwg	Mr Iwan England	15 th February 2018
	Mr Richard Martin	15 th February 2018

(Mrs) J. Rosser CHAIRMAN

The meeting terminated at 9:50am