

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Central South Consortium Joint Education Service Joint Committee held at Ty Dysgu, Nantgarw, on Tuesday 19<sup>th</sup> November, 2019 at 9.00 a.m.

## **Present**

Councillor C. Smith (Chair) Bridgend County Borough Council Councillor J Rosser, Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council Councillor S. Merry, Cardiff City Council Councillor L. Burnett, Vale of Glamorgan County Borough Council Councillor L Mytton Merthyr Tydfil, County Borough Council

### Officers in Attendance

Mr P Orders - (Lead) Chief Executive, Cardiff City Council
Ms S. Walker – (Lead Director) Chief Education Officer, Merthyr Tydfil County
Borough Council
Mr Richard Evans - Head of HR, Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough
Council

#### 1. <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

There were no declarations of personal interests in matters pertaining to the agenda.

#### 2. EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

**RESOLVED** that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) for the next item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 12 of Part 4 of Schedule 12A of the Act namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered, consequently, it is

considered that the public interest in maintaining the exemptions outweighs the public interest in disclosing information.

# 3. INTERVIEWS FOR THE POST OF MANAGING DIRECTOR, CENTRAL SOUTH CONSORTIUM JOINT EDUCATION SERVICE

Consideration was given to the appointment of Managing Director, Central South Consortium Joint Education Service, from the candidates who had been interviewed for the position.

It was **RESOLVED** to appoint Ms Clara Seery to the post of Managing Director of the Central South Consortium Joint Education Service with immediate effect.

The meeting terminated at 11.00 a.m.

Dr C Smith

Chair