

# RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH COUNCIL WORKING GROUP

Minutes of the meeting of the Freedom of the Borough Council Working Group held on Wednesday, 10 April 2019 at 3.00 pm at the Committee Room, Block A, The Pavilions, Cambrian Park, Clydach Vale, Tonypandy, CF40 2XX.

# County Borough Councillors - Freedom of the Borough Council Working Group Members in attendance:-

Councillor S Powderhill (Chair)

Councillor M Webber

#### Officers in attendance

Mr C Hanagan, Service Director of Democratic Services & Communication Mr A Wilkins, Director, Legal Services Mr J Whitehurst, Graduate Officer - Cabinet & PR

### 1 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from County Borough Councillors A Morgan, P Jarman and J James.

## 2 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

In accordance with the Code of Conduct there were no declaration of interest pertaining to the agenda.

#### 3 MINUTES

Members **RESOLVED** that the minutes of the 8<sup>th</sup> March, 2018 were an accurate reflection of the meeting.

#### 4 GOOD CITIZEN AWARD

The Service Director, Democratic Services and Communication presented Members with the report which outlined the nominations received in respect of the Mayor's Good Citizen Awards. Members were advised that 45 nominations had been received, across six of the categories, although the Service Director added that if Members were mindful, a nominee could be transferred into a different category, if recognition cut across two categories. He also reminded Members that previously Members had also taken forward an additional 'special award' if Members wished to replicate this practice.

Members in attendance commented on all of the nominations received and the incredible achievements and commitment shown by all and it was agreed that

each of the nominations should receive a letter from the Mayor acknowledging the nominees commitments.

After discussions it was **RESOLVED** to award the following nominee's with the Mayor's Good Citizen Award:

Services to the Community:- PCSO Allan Blackburn Personal Achievement – Wynford Williams Artistic Achievement – Daniel Davies and Ella Thomas Sporting Achievement – Sporting Marvels Supporting Others - Marie Curie Team Services to Charity – Wayne Griffiths

The Mayor's Special Recognition Award – Valerie Davies & Amelia Gay.

Before concluding the meeting the officers advised that the date of the Award ceremony was still be confirmed.

This meeting closed at 3.15 pm

Cllr S Powderhill Chairman.