RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Thursday, 16 October 2014 at 4.20pm.

PRESENT

County Borough Councillors:

L. M. Adams, W. J. David, and (Mrs) E. Hanagan

Officer in Attendance

Ms J Hadley – Head of school Organisation, Planning & Governance

9 APOLOGY

An apology of absence was received from County Borough Councillors S. Rees-Owen and M. Forey.

10 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members had no personal interests to declare in matters pertaining to the agenda.

11 MINUTES

RESOLVED to approve as an accurate record the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on the 17th July 2014.

12 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

13 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In his report, the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report the late applications for governorship were circulated for the Committee's consideration.

Following consideration of the report, it was **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below.

<u>SCHOOL</u>	<u>GOVERNOR</u>	EFFECTIVE DATE
PRIMARY SCHOOLS		
Abercynon Community	Mr Alun Caffrey	17 th October 2014
Caradog Primary	Mr Huw Vernon Thomas	17 th October 2014
Cwmlai Primary	Mr Andrew William James	17 th October 2014
Ferndale Community	Mrs Janet Jones	20 th October 2014
Gelli Primary	Mr Robert Lewis	17 th October 2014
Llantrisant Primary	Mr David Boaler	17 th October 2014
Llwyncrwn Primary	Mrs Lynne Rees	17 th October 2014
Llwynypia Primary	Mr Robert Lewis	6 th November 2014
	Mrs Louise Roberts	17 th October 2014
Maerdy Primary	Mr Bryn Jones	31 st December 2014
	Mrs Ann Jones	31 st December 2014
Maesgwyn Special School	Mr Christopher Parker	17 th October 2014
Maesybryn Primary	Ms Alice Elinor Hooper	17 th October 2014
Penpych Primary	Cllr Irene Elizabeth Pearce	20 th October 2014
Trehopcyn Primary	Cllr Christina Leyshon	17 th October 2014
Treorchy Primary	Mrs Margaret Evans	20 th October 2014
Williamstown Primary	Mrs Shirlene Baker	20 th October 2014
Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Llyn Y Forwyn	Mr Marc L'Homme	20 th October 2014
COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOLS		
St. John Baptist CIW High	Mr Michael William Richards	20 th October 2014
Y Pant Comprehensive	Mrs Alice Elizabeth Hague	20 th October 2014

(Mrs) E. HANAGAN CHAIRMAN

The meeting terminated at 4.35pm