RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Thursday, 9 July 2015 at 4.30pm.

PRESENT

County Borough Councillors:

W. J. David (Mrs) E.Hanagan S.Rees-Owen R.Yeo

Officer in Attendance

Mrs.J.Hadley – Head of School Organisation, Planning & Governance

1 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor M.Forey.

2 <u>DECLARATION OF INTEREST</u>

County Borough Councillor (Mrs) E.Hanagan declared a personal and prejudicial interest in agenda item no.6 – Applications for the appointment of Local Education Authority Governors – "I am applying to be a Governor at Tonyrefail School and will not take part in this matter".

3 MINUTES

RESOLVED to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 5 May 2015.

4 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY</u> <u>GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2015-16</u> <u>MUNICIPAL YEAR</u>

RESOLVED to elect County Borough Councillor (Mrs) E.Hanagan as Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2015-16 municipal year.

5 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2015-16 MUNICIPAL YEAR

RESOLVED to appoint County Borough Councillor W.J.David as Vice-Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2015-16 municipal year.

6 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

7 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In his report, the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, four late applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

The Committee was also informed that County Borough Councillor Sue Pickering had inadvertently completed her application form by expressing an interest in becoming a Governor at 'Hawthorn Primary' School whereas she meant to express her interest in becoming a Governor at 'Hawthorn High'. Councillor Pickering had applopised for her mistake in completing the form.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

<u>SCHOOL</u>	<u>GOVERNOR</u>	EFFECTIVE DATE
Abernant Primary	June Landeg	13 July 2015
Alaw Primary	Glenda Abbott	24 September 2015
Blaengwawr Primary	Councillor Linda De Vet	24 September 2015
Brynnau Primary	Councillor Roger Turner	24 September 2015
Caegarw Primary	Councillor Pauline Jarman	5 September 2015
	David O'Mahony	24 September 2015
Cilfynydd Primary	Huw David Jones	24 October 2015

Coedpenmaen Primary	Councillor Michael Powell	13 July 2015
Coedylan Primary	Councillor Joyce Cass	13 July 2015
	Councillor Stephen Carter	24 October 2015
Cwmdar Primary	William Daniel	24 September 2015
,	Alun Maddox	24 September 2015
Darran Park Primary	Councillor Annette Davies	24 September 2015
Darrenlas Primary	Daniel Allen	6 December 2015
Ferndale Infants	Kris Jones	13 July 2015
Gwauncelyn Primary	Stephen James	24 September 2015
Hendreforgan Primary	Allun Warren	24 September 2015
	Betsi Griffiths	24 September 2015
Heol y Celyn Primary	Councillor Maureen Webber	13 July 2015
Llanilitud Faerdref Primary	Susan Love	24 September 2015
,	Edward Roberts	24 September 2015
Llwydcoed Primary	Andrea Hosgood	24 September 2015
Llwyncelyn Infants	Julie Williams	13 July 2015
Maesybryn Primary	Bernard Channon	24 September 2015
	Beverley Channon	24 September 2015
Maesycoed Primary	Valerie Mor O'Brien	24 September 2015
Miskin Primary	Councillor Jane Ward	24 September 2015
Oaklands Primary	Helen Wagner	5 September 2015
Parc Primary	Anne Smith	24 September 2015
Penderyn Primary	Councillor Graham Thomas	24 October 2015
Perthcelyn Primary	Councillor Jane Ward	13 July 2015
Pontyclun Primary	Millicent Phillips	13 July 2015
Tontyolari Timary	Councillor Margaret Griffiths	24 October 2015
Pontygwaith Primary	Councillor Robert Bevan	24 September 2015
Tonyrefail Primary	Peter Marchant	24 September 2015
Tonysguboriau Primary	Jeff Woodington	17 September 2015
Tonysgubonau i filitary	Catherine Devine	6 December 2015
Trerobart Primary	Marianne Jones	24 September 2015
Tylorstown Primary	Councillor Mark Adams	24 September 2015
YGG Aberdar	Elizabeth Walters	24 September 2015
YGG Bodringallt	Linda Llewellyn	13 July 2015
YGG Bronllwyn	Michael Winnard	13 July 2015
199 Bioiiiwyii	Eleri Jones	13 July 2015
YGG Pontshionnorton	Robert Davies	13 July 2015
1 GG F GHISHIOTHOROT	Jay Goulding	13 July 2015
	Kevin Wyn Evans	6 December 2015
VGG Topyrofail	Betsi Griffiths	
YGG Tonyrefail YGG Ynyswen	David Morris	24 September 2015 24 September 2015
YGG Llantrisant	Councillor Margaret Griffiths	24 October 2015
Ferndale Community	Councillor Annette Davies	24 September 2015
Terridale Community	Karen Knott	6 December 2015
Hawthorn High		
Hawthorn High	Councillor Sue Pickering Councillor Pauline Jarman	24 September 2015
Mountain Ash Comprehensive	Howard Milton	24 September 2015
Porth County Community		24 September 2015
Porth County Community	Julie Williams	24 September 2015
St.John Baptist CIW High	Peter Scott	24 September 2015
Tonypandy Community	Kenneth Privett	13 July 2015
	Edward Griffiths	24 September 2015

Tonyrefail School	Councillor Eudine Hanagan	24 September 2015
	Russell Roberts	24 September 2015
	Howard Jeans	24 September 2015
Treorchy Comprehensive	Paul Russell	13 July 2015
	Councillor Emyr Webster	24 September 2015
	Emlyn Jenkins	24 September 2015
Ysgol Gyfun Garth Olwg	Raymond Butler	24 September 2015
Ysgol Llanhari	Councillor Paul Griffiths	13 July 2015
Ysgol Gyfun Y Cymer	Councillor Cennard Davies	24 September 2015

(**Note:** County Borough Councillor S.Rees-Owen wished to have recorded that she voted in favour of appointing Councillor Michael Powell to the vacancy at Hawthorn High School and County Borough Councillors W.J.David, (Mrs) E.Hanagan and R.Yeo wished to have recorded that they voted in favour of appointing Councillor Sue Pickering to the vacancy at Hawthorn High School).

(Mrs) E. HANAGAN CHAIRMAN

The meeting terminated at 4.47 p.m.