#### RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

## LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

**Minutes** of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Tuesday, 23 February 2016 at 4.00 p.m.

#### **PRESENT**

County Borough Councillor (Mrs) E.Hanagan - in the Chair

#### **County Borough Councillors**

W.J.David, M.Forey and R.Yeo

#### Officer in Attendance

Mrs J.Hadley - School Organisation Manager

#### 14 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from County Borough Councillor S.Rees-Owen.

#### 15 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

Members had no interests to declare in matters pertaining to the agenda.

#### 16 MINUTES

**RESOLVED** to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A.Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 9 December 2015.

#### 17 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

**RESOLVED** that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is not considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing the information.

### REPORTS OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING, CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

#### 18 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In his report, the Director, Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, two late applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following individuals be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DATE
Abercynon Community Primary	Marcia Morris	24 February 2016
Alaw Primary	Wendy Davies	15 March 2016
Coedpenmaen Primary	Alison Lambert	24 February 2016
Coedylan Primary	Simon Tucker	24 February 2016
Cwmbach CiW Primary	Peter Ford	24 February 2016
Cwmlai Primary	Jason Rogers	24 February 2016
Darrenlas Primary	Elizabeth Young	24 February 2016
Gelli Primary	Wendy Lewis	24 February 2016 15 March 2016
Glenboi Primary	Councillor Andrew Morgan	
Hawthorn Primary	Alison Lambert	24 February 2016
Heol y Celyn Primary	Elin Brown	24 February 2016
Oaklands Primary	Councillor Sharon Rees	20 January 2016
Pontygwaith Primary	Councillor Mark Adams	14 March 2016
Porth Infants	Elizabeth Grimes	24 February 2016
Ton Pentre Infants	Joan Edwards	24 February 2016
Tref y Rhyg Primary	Stephen Burgess	15 March 2016
Treorchy Primary	Alison Chapman	24 February 2016
YGG Aberdar	Councillor Sharon Rees	25 February 2016
YGG Castellau	Pamela Mahoney	9 March 2016
Ysgol Hen Felin	Robert Harris	24 February 2016
Ysgol yr Eos	Dominic Evans	24 February 2016
Bryncelynnog Comprehensive	Marilyn Garnon	9 March 2016
Hawthorn High	Councillor Michael Powell	25 February 2016
Tonypandy Community College	Pamela Pritchard	24 February 2016
YG Y Cymer	Barrie Cradle	24 February 2016
Tai Education centre	Ceri Jones	24 February 2016

(**Note:** As Regulations regarding governor appointments only permit individuals to serve on a maximum of two governing bodies, the individual applying for the vacancy at Pontrhondda Primary could not be considered for appointment as she had already been appointed to governor positions at two other schools)

# 19 APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY GOVERNORS TO THE TEMPORARY GOVERNING BODY OF THE NEW CYMMER COMMUNITY PRIMARY SCHOOL

In his report, the Director, Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for the posts of Temporary Governors on the Temporary Governing Body of the new Cymmer Community Primary School.

Following consideration of the report, it was **RESOLVED** to note the report and to appoint the following individuals to the Temporary Governing Body of the new Cymmer Community Primary School:

L.E.A. Governors – 3 posts		
Councillor M. Tegg		
Mr S. Towell		
1 Vacancy		
Parent Governors – 4 posts		
Mrs. K. Harris		
Mr D.Hughes		
Ms K. Ellis		
Miss A. Gudge		
Teacher Governor – 1 post		
Mr G. Leach		
Staff Governor – 1 post		
Mr W. Davies		

E.HANAGAN CHAIR

The meeting terminated at 4.10 p.m.