RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Monday, 9th May 2016 at 10.00 a.m.

PRESENT

County Borough Councillor (Mrs) E.Hanagan - in the Chair

County Borough Councillors

W.J.David, M.Forey, S. Rees-Owen and R.Yeo

Officer in Attendance

Mrs J.Hadley - School Organisation Manager

19 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

The following declarations of personal interests in matters pertaining to the agenda were received from:

- (1) County Borough Councillor (Mrs) E. Hanagan in respect of Agenda Item No.5 Appointment of Temporary Governors to the Temporary Governing Bodies of the Three Newly Created Middle Schools in RCT "I am applying to be a temporary governor at Tonyrefail Middle School, it is also a prejudicial interest and I will leave the meeting for this item".
- (2) County Borough Councillor R. Yeo in respect of Agenda Item No.4 Appointments of Local Education Authority Governors "I am applying to be a governor at Llwyncrwn Primary Schoool, it is also a prejudicial interest and I will leave the meeting for this item".

20 MINUTES

RESOLVED to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A.Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 23rd February 2016.

21 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended).

REPORTS OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING, CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

22 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In his report, the Director, Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, two late applications for governorships were circulated at the meeting for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following individuals be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DATE
Caradog Primary	Councillor Steven Bradwick	9 th May 2016
Cefn & Craig yr Hesg Fed	Councillor Douglas Williams	9 th May 2016
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	Elizabeth Williams	1 st September 2016
Cilfynydd Primary	Councillor Barrie Morgan	9 th May 2016
Cwmaman Infants & Glynhafod Junior	Sian Jenkins-Hughes	9 th May 2016
,	Councillor Anita Calvert	1 st September 2016
	Councillor Howard Davies	1 st September 2016
Cwmbach Community Primary	Peter Ford	9 th May 2016
	Lynda Williams	1 st September 2016
Cymmer Primary	Councillor Margaret Tegg	1 st September 2016
	Stephen Towell	1 st September 2016
Ffynnon Taf Primary	Councillor Jill Bonetto	5 th July 2016
Llanilltud Faerdref Primary	Ashlie Holland	20 th September 2016
Llwyncelyn Infants	Helen Wilson	9 th May 2016
Llwyncrwn Primary	Councillor Richard Yeo	5 th July 2016
Maesybryn Primary	Councillor Joel James	7 th July 2016
Oaklands Primary	Father Matthew Gibbon	9 th May 2016
Parc Primary	Councillor Sera Evans-Fear	7 th July 2016
Penderyn Primary	Thomas Jones	5 th July 2016
Pengeulan Primary	Councillor Adam Fox	7 th July 2016
Porth Infants	Roberta Webb	9 th May 2016
SS Gabriel & Raphael RC Primary	Marion Middle	9 th May 2016
Ton Pentre Infants	Mark Evans	24 th September 2016
Trallwng Infants	Ambrose Davies	5 th July 2016
Trealaw Primary	Toni Griffiths Lewis	9 th May 2016
Tref y Rhyg Primary	Philip Lewis	5 th July 2016
Treorchy Primary	Emyr Webster	9 th May 2016
Trerobart Primary	Councillor Susan Pickering	5 th July 2016
Tylorstown Primary	Councillor Robert Bevan	7 th July 2016
YGG Abercynon	Councillor Rhys Lewis	5 th July 2016
YGG Evan James	Heledd Fychan	9 th May 2016
YGG Llyn y Forwyn	Trevor Rees Morgan	5 th July 2016
YGG Ynyswen	Councillor Geraint Davies	5 th July 2016
	Gillian Davies	1 st September 2016

Ysgol Ty Coch	Councillor Lyndon Walker	5 th July 2016
Porth County Comprehensive	Gareth Caple	7 th July 2016

(Note: Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter, County Borough Councillor R. Yeo took no part in the appointment of Governors at Llwyncrwn Primary School)

(**Note:** Having previously declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the undermentioned matter, County Borough Councillor (Mrs) E. Hanagan left the meeting at this point in the proceedings, vacating the Chair in favour of the Vice-Chair for the remainder of the meeting)

23 APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY GOVERNORS TO THE TEMPORARY GOVERNING BODIES OF THE THREE NEW MIDDLE SCHOOLS IN RHONDDA CYNON TAF

In his report, the Director, Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for the posts of Temporary Governors on the Temporary Governing Bodies of the new Middle Schools at Porth, Tonypandy and Tonyrefail.

Following consideration of the report, it was **RESOLVED** to note the report and to appoint the following individuals to the Temporary Governing Bodies as listed below:

(1) Porth Middle School

L.E.A. Governors
Gareth Caple
Carol Edwards
Colin Jones
Councillor Graham Smith
David Brookes
Parent Governors
Victoria Davies
Teacher Governor
Tracy Evans
Fionna Knibbs
Staff Governor
Tracey Gibby

(2) Tonypandy Middle School

L.E.A. Governors	
Councillor Kenneth Privett	
Kimberley Davies	
Councillor Craig Middle	
Sheila Jones	
Edward Griffiths	
Parent Governors	
Liana Pengelly	
Cheryl Morgan	
Sandra Evans	
Allyson Pugh	
Carol Turner	
Katherine Williams	
Teacher Governor	
Helen O'Gorman	
Sarah Baker	
Staff Governor	
Fiona Jones	

(3) Tonyrefail Middle School

L.E.A. Governors
Councillor Aurfron Roberts
Councillor Robert McDonald
Councillor Eudine Hanagan
Councillor Paul Wasley
Colin Graham Lewis
Parent Governors
Collette Taylor
Heather Lewis
Jason Howells
Donna Robins
Andrew James
Michael Morgan
Teacher Governor
Ceinwen Rees
Mark Cleverley

E.HANAGAN CHAIR

The meeting terminated at 10.20 a.m.