#### RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

# LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

**Minutes** of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Tuesday, 11<sup>th</sup> July, 2017 at 2.00pm.

#### **PRESENT**

### **County Borough Councillors:**

J. Rosser M. Forey C. Leyshon J. Brencher

#### Officer in Attendance

Mrs.J.Hadley – Schools Organisation Manger
Ms N Morgan – School Organisation and Governance Team Leader
Ms C. Hendy – Democratic Services Officer

#### 1 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor S.Rees-Owens

#### 2 <u>DECLARATION OF INTEREST</u>

County Borough Councillor J Rosser declared a personal and prejudicial interest in agenda item no.6 – Applications for the appointment of Local Education Authority Governors – "I am applying to be a Governor at Alaw Primary School and will not take part in this matter".

#### 3 MINUTES

**RESOLVED** to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 2nd March 2017.

### 4 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY</u> GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2017/18 MUNICIPAL YEAR

**RESOLVED** to elect County Borough Councillor J. Rosser as Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2017-18 municipal year.

# 5 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2017-18 MUNICIPAL YEAR

**RESOLVED** to appoint County Borough Councillor C. Leyshon as Vice-Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2017 – 18 municipal year.

#### 6 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

**RESOLVED** that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

### REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

#### 7 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In his report, the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, ten late applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	<u>GOVERNOR</u>	EFFECTIVE DATE
Abercynon Community Primary	Cllr E. George	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Alaw Primary	Cllr J Rosser	3 <sup>rd</sup> October 2017
Blaengwawr Primary	Mrs E Christopher	3 <sup>rd</sup> October 2017
Brynnau Primary	Mrs A Davis	6 <sup>th</sup> October 2017
	Mrs S. George	
Cwmclydach Primary	Mrs C Davies	
		11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Darrenlas Primary	Cllr A. Morgan	9 <sup>th</sup> September 2017
Hawthorn Primary	Cllr Fidler Jones	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Llwyncelyn Infants	Miss L. Harris	17 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Penderyn Primary	Mr G Barrie	17 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Penpych Community Primary	Cllr W. Jones	5 <sup>th</sup> July 2017

Penygawsi Primary	Mr N Hunt- Davies	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Penygraig Infants and Junior	Cllr J Cullwick	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Federated		
Penyrenglyn Primary	Mr R. Jenkins	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
	Cllr W. Jones	
	Ms I Pearce	
Penywaun Primary	Miss K. Crisp	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Pontrhonnda Primary	Mrs M. Dunn	3 <sup>rd</sup> October 2017
Porth Juniors	Mrs V Davies	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
St Michael's RC Primary	Mrs J Harris	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Ton Junior	Cllr M Weaver	5 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Trallwng Infants	Mrs L Davies	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Tref y Rhyg Primary	Cllr D Grehan	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Williamstown Primary	Cllr D Owen- Jones	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
	Cllr A Davies- Jones	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
YGG Bronllwyn	Cllr L Jones	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
YGG Garth Olwg	Mr H Rees	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Ysgol Llanhari	Mrs S Jones	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Maesgwyn Special	Mrs M Manning	9 <sup>th</sup> September 2017
Mountain Ash Comprehensive	Cllr P Jarman	24 <sup>th</sup> September 2017
Pontypridd High	Mr I Mclean	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Porth County Comprehensive	Cllr J Williams	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
St John Baptist CIW	Cllr G Jones	11 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Treorchy Comprehensive	Mr K Morgan	5 <sup>th</sup> July 2017
Ysgol Gyfun Rhydwaun	Mrs L Harrington	3 <sup>rd</sup> October 2017

# APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY GOVERNORS TO THE TEMPORARY GOVERNING BODY OF THE NEW CWMAMAN PRIMARY SCHOOL

LEA Governor	Cllr C Williams	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2017
LEA Governor	Cllr A Calvert	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2017
LEA Governor	Mr A Hoare	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2017
Parent Governor	Ms K Jarvis	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2017
Parent Governor	Ms K Collins	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2017
Parent Governor	Mr N Thorne	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2017
Teacher Governor	Ms D Evans	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2017
Staff Governor	Ms N Cole	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2017

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter, County Borough Councillor J. Rosser left the meeting at the point of the appointment the Governors at Alaw Primary School, vacating the Chair in favour of the Vice Chair for that point of the meeting.)

(Mrs) J. Rosser CHAIRMAN

The meeting terminated at 2:30pm