Skip to main content

Cardiff Capital Region City Deal


A £1.2 billion Cardiff Capital Region (CCR) City Deal that could transform the economy of South East Wales was ratified on 1 March 2017. The CCRC City Deal is a partnership consisting of ten local authorities i.e. Cardiff, the Vale of Glamorgan, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Merthyr Tydfil, Caerphilly, Monmouthshire, Bridgend, Blaenau Gwent, Torfaen and Newport.
Cardiff Capital Region City Deal

Its vision is to 'Work together to improve the lives of people in all of our communities. We will maximise opportunity for all and ensure we secure sustainable economic growth for future generations' and it's aims are to:

  • Create and boost economic prosperity by improving productivity,
  • Tackle worklessness,
  • Build on foundations of innovation,
  • Invest in physical and digital infrastructure,
  • Provide support for business and ensure that any economic benefits generated as a result, are felt across the region.

Papers from Cardiff Capital Region City Deal Joint Cabinet