Rhondda Cynon Taf is the third largest Local Authority in Wales.

The county borough was formed in 1996 following the abolition of the county of Mid Glamorgan. Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council was formed by the merger of the former Mid Glamorgan districts of Rhondda, Cynon Valley and Taff Ely (with the exceptions of Creigiau and Pentyrch).

The population of the county is 238,306 (Mid Year Census 2016), consists of 99,700 households (Census 2011) and has 7 neighbouring local authorities:

Neighboring Local Authorities
Bridgend County Borough Council Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council

Caerphilly County Borough Council


Powys County Council


City of Cardiff Council


Vale Of Glamorgan Council


Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council


A total of 75 councillors are elected to represent the people of Rhondda Cynon Taf. It is a Labour held Council and Councillor Andrew Morgan is the leader.

View The Council's Political Makeup depicted in a bar chart and colour coded map.

The Cabinet is made up of the Leader, Deputy Leader, and 7 Cabinet Members. All have specific responsibilities over an area of the Council's activities such as education, transport or social services.

Cllr Morgans is the Mayor of Rhondda Cynon Taf and Chris Bradshaw is the Council’s Chief Executive. 

The headquarters are based in Clydach Vale.

Rhondda Cynon Taf Council Headquarters

The Pavilions,

Cambrian Park

Clydach Vale


Rhondda Cynon Taf

CF40 2XX

Help us improve - don't include personal or financial information, e.g. your National Insurance number or credit card details.