Skip to main content

Rhondda Cynon Taf Council Presiding Officer

Councillor Gareth Hughes has been appointed Presiding Officer of Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council for the ensuing year.

The appointment was made during the 27th Annual General Meeting of Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council, held on Wednesday, May 25, 2022.

Councillor Hughes (Tonypandy Ward), takes over the role from the Council’s first-ever Presiding Officer, Councillor Steve Powderhill (Treforest Ward), who held the post for four years, including during his year as Mayor of Rhondda Cynon Taf.

Also elected at the Council’s Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, May 25, 2022, was the Council’s two Deputy Presiding Members, Councillor Sheryl Evans (Aberaman Ward) and Councillor Barry Stephens (Llanharry Ward).

The main role of the Presiding Officer is to undertake the administrative functions of the Chair of the Council. The Presiding Officer presides over meetings of the full Council and ensures Council meetings are conducted in line with the Council’s Constitution.

The appointment of a Presiding Officer takes place on an annual basis at the Council’s Annual General Meeting
Posted on 27/05/2022